Walking Tour

We finally have internet here in the apartment…thank. the. lord.  In the interim, I have had to keep myself busy the old-fashioned way, you know, getting outside, exploring, interacting with real people etc.  With PC’s busy schedule, most of my explorations have been done solo.

One day, I decided I would walk from our apartment to Marienplatz in the center of Munich.  I’m not sure why I thought this was a great idea.  The ease and efficiency of a 15 minute S-bahn trip apparently couldn’t deter me from this plan.  Nevertheless, there was something satisfying about exploring on foot. You should know that most Germans would bike the road to Munich…well most rational people would.  But bikes do abound here.  I once made the mistake of walking around town when school got out.  Oh dear. it was scary.  I just stood in the middle of the street waiting to be struck down by a hyper 10 year old.

As a reward for finishing the walk, I decided to visit the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial.  Yes I’m aware that I used the word “reward”…in my brain it makes sense.  As a history major at Pepperdine, I had the opportunity to take a course on Genocide in the 20th Century, which involved a study of the Holocaust.   The course changed every student in the class. Many of us began suffering from severe nightmares and even depression.  It demanded a kind of mental strength, and emotional awareness that we had not expected. But the responsibility of remembrance demands this of each of us.  I am so thankful I had the opportunity to undertake that study.  Despite the obvious knowledge gained, I will always remember the appeal our professor made that we each attempt to be softer in life.

It’s important to note that Dachau was a concentration camp and not an extermination camp.  That is not to say that thousands of deaths did not occur here.  This camp was held up as an example to other camps as it operated upon a highly efficient and organized structure which created a suffocating environment of daily terror for the prisoners.  If you have any interest in the camps I cannot recommend more highly the book, The Order of Terror by Wolfgang Sofsky.  
Now to the other things that have kept me busy….

A visit to the Deutches Museum

Delicious Bratwurst at the Viktualienmarkt

Watching Generali Haching dominate.  It delights me to no end that when someone gets an Ace the big screen flashes “Ass!”

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Walking Tour

Leave a Reply

