May the Calendar Keep Bringing

Happy Holidays to you…

I realize it’s New Year’s Eve, but let’s jump right back into some Christmas sharing shall we?

Pictures from the evening of the 25th have not yet made it into my possession.  So until they do, I’ll just catch you up on the last few days.  A couple of packages have arrived, though five remain with DHL, customs or…in some swirling vortex.   However, we continue to be spoiled, humbled and amazed by the generosity of our friends and family. So Christmas continues here at Casa Bay/Carroll…

Our Expanding Card Collection
Laker Blankie and Superman Underwear
Nice, Cozy Much-Needed Winter Jacket

PC’s team continues to roll out the victories, and he gets a precious two days off on the 31st and 1st.  Originally we had hoped to have a quick getaway, but time, expense and PC’s fatigue level will see us at home for Silvester (German NYE).

I don’t normally make New Year’s resolutions, but this year is an exception.  One of the reasons I normally skip this tradition is that I begin considering so many things I want to improve upon that it can quickly become an exercise in self-loathing.  This year I am attempting to be more gentle with myself, so I’m making two lists.  Now, I am not ashamed to admit that I stole this idea from someone else (oddly enough her name is Erin too).  She is ringing in 2011 with both goals and non-goals.

“Goals” are the traditional resolutions.  In that vein, PC and I are both hoping to exercise our brains more with  good ol’ book readin’.   I must admit, I don’t keep up with current fiction, so the other day when we scanned the bookstore my instinct was to reach for a classic.  However, I need to broaden my horizons, so if you’ve read some good stuff lately, I would LOVE to get some suggestions.

Lovin the Russian Lit

Now, the non-goals portion is sort of a “keep it up, you’re great” list.  Although I am still laboring upon this list, I know that one of my non-goals will be:

Keep writing this blog.  It was difficult to start it, and sometimes you are very self-conscious about it but GET OVER IT.  You will want this record of your life somewhere down the line.  Plus, it helps you stay sane and connected to your family and friends.  p.s. quit worrying about your grammar mistakes.

I think that many of us have been through a great deal this past year, so we could all use a little exercise in self-appreciation.  I hope you all have a wonderful and safe New Year’s Eve.

6 thoughts on “May the Calendar Keep Bringing

  1. So is German New Year’s named after a cartoon cat? Pretty funny.

    Have you read Guns, Germs, & Steel? Won the Pulitzer Prize. Looks at how societies developed based on the resources available. A little dry but right up your alley. Also, read In Cold Blood recently. Interesting how people end up doing such terrible things.

    Love the blog.

  2. Water for Elephants is good, also “the Help” is very good. It is said that “the help” is historical fiction, I think it has a lot of truth in it! If you would like to try some “foo-foo” EZ reading I have several authors to recommend. Let me know, or tell your mom.

  3. Love the winter jacket! I have also been trying to read a lot more lately, although I don’t know how far into the new year it will carry since I will be consumed with school reading. But, I am re-reading Harry Potter (since I only read through book 4 the first time. I am on book 4 again right now). And I just read Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. It was really good, pretty short, AND set during Japanese internment time… so there’s a little history thrown in there for ya 🙂 Also, the Water for Elephants movie is coming out soon, so you should definitely read that first, if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

