Out of the Ordinary

Figured I’d just share some things I’ve been doing that aren’t usually part of my routine.

1. Going on a hike

Matt and I took a leisurely stroll through Wildwood Park in Thousand Oaks.  We stopped for a look at Paradise Falls, some interesting succulents…and a water treatment plant.

Waterfall

2. Trying some new desserts

During a stroll through an asian grocery store, I couldn’t pass up the bakery.  I came out of it with a super soft pandan cake, and successfully weirded out my roommates by bringing home an asian-style cheesecake.

So Fluffy...So Green

I won Jess back with this find from TJ’s.  Highly recommend this. Soooo gooey.

Dig that Packaging

3. A weekend of camping at Pismo Beach.

Pismo was a new one for me.  While my family has always been into camping, we have never been into beach camping.  In a camping environment, you always plan for a bit of grime, but I don’t think you can ever prepare yourself for the amount of sand you’ll accumulate after just a couple of days at the beach.  I can’t even imagine the horror of having children in this mess.

Luckily, the sand wasn’t that bad, and we had a great time.  Hanging out with some old and new friends, it was equal parts fun and relaxation.  Although I must say, I was completely unprepared for the…ummm…local color in Pismo.  To illustrate the point, I’ll just say that we were clearly out of place without a lifted truck, ATV  and confederate flag.  Despite the incessant noise of the zooming atv’s, Pismo still boasts a beautiful coastline and some incredible sand dunes.  Walking just a short way into the dunes, you can easily lose yourself in the miles of undulations, admire the local mountains to the east, and watch the waves roll in.

Pismo
Breakin' It Down

Some of the best moments were spent hanging around the fire, and watching bro’s head up to Comp. hill.

Dunes, bro

The highlight has to be our epic wiffle ball game.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any documentation of the event, but there was blood, sweat, arguing, screaming and, of course, some hydration.

half-hearted wear it...not nearly as exciting as wiffleball

Other moments of note included seagull catching/mutilating, soaking and s’more eating.

Unfortunately, it seems I’m in for a week of studying, and less exciting endeavours, but balance is good, right?

Leave a Reply

