weekend update

I was able to scrounge up some photos and the like to share a bit about last weekend…

Mom’s Birthday

To celebrate Tami’s 50th , we had a groovy get-together.  With a sixties theme, we encouraged everyone to dress up to fit the decade.  We served some Purple Haze beer, Flower Power Pomegranate Punch (I’m told it quite literally packed a punch, sorry bout that :)), and enjoyed tunes from the likes of the Beach Boys, Mamas and the Papas and the Who.

Parents rockin' the mod and Steve McQueen looks
Surprise! all 3 Sisters home for the weekend

One of the main events of the evening was the trivia game.  I don’t know that I can accurately describe the decibel level during the game…suffice to say that it rivaled any college party I’ve attended.  What with the screaming, yelling, singing and dancing…it was a full on ruckus.

Team Flower Children

If you’d like to try your hand at some of the questions, here’s a few examples:

On October 16, 1969 This ‘miracle’ team defeated the Orioles in the World Series.

Who coined the phrase “turn on, tune in, drop out”?

Now…a sample of the fill-in portion:

We ended the night with some delicious tie dye cupcakes, and I think everyone had a pretty good time.

Case's Tie Dye Cupcakes

Incubus Concert

Lucky me, I got to come along with some Schirripas, a McKee and a Castillo to an Incubus concert.  While my companions had many an Incubus show under their belts, this was my first.  That band holds a special place in my heart as one of my “first” bands.  You remember that point in your life when you were finally aware and opinionated about music?  When you bought your first cd’s (dated now huh?)  Oh yeah.  Incubus was right in there.  It helps that lead singer Brandon Boyd is a California dreamboat, and many a girl harbored/harbors a crush on that man candy.

We drove down to the Verizon Wireless in Irvine for the last show of their North American “If Not Now, When” tour.  We stopped off in a Carniceria for some heavenly and complimentary burritos (thanks to Alejandro), before arriving at the venue. With impeccable timing, we strolled into the amphitheater just as opening act, AWOLNATION struck up “Sail”, the only tune of theirs we really knew, and a pretty killer one at that.  We claimed a spot on the grass so that we could sit, stand, sprawl out and dance around like imbeciles with abandon.  I think this is pretty accurate account of the setlist.  Great mix of old and new.

If I had to cite any criticism, I’d have to lay it with the last encore.  “Tomorrow’s Food” ended the concert with a largely instrumental video montage that struck an artistic note.  I respect the choice, but I suppose the greedy girl in me was hoping for a rockin’ nuclear finish.

Of course, I had my own personal issues.  The incline of the grassy area we chose was highly incompatible with my 3.5 inch wedge heels leading to quite a few stumbles, a couple of full on sh*t eating moments, and some tired quads by the end.  Proud moments all.  However, my clumsiness could not prevent me from grooving to the tunes, and singing along with the rest of the audience.

If you’d like a taste of the concert and Mr. Boyd, here’s a lil vid.  It’s not great quality, but you’ll have to get over it.

2 thoughts on “weekend update

  1. I can honestly say I got quite the laugh from the flood of memories endured whilst reading this. Most notably the side walk, looking the opposite direction, faceplant (more like invisible hand throwing you to the turf)…lets ignore the fact that only one of our group tried to help you up while the rest laughed.

    Thanks for the recap, thoroughly enjoyed.

  2. sounds like a wonderful and eventful weekend! the 60s party looked adorable and now i want a tie-dye cupcake 🙂

Leave a Reply

