New

Happy 2012!

I figured I’d start out by revisiting my resolutions from last year.  In 2011, I had hoped to read 50 books.  Sadly, I failed at 43.  However, the real goal for the 50 books was to exercise my brain, and that was assuredly a goal I achieved.  It is altogether too easy to let yourself slog through days doing nothing but watching TV, and trolling Pinterest.

While I certainly allow plenty of time to slog, the book readin’ reignited my curiosity about the world and the human condition.  I’m aware of how cliche and haughty that sounds. Nevertheless, it’s true.  Books force you to interact with authors and characters from every age, geographic locale and historical epoch.  Those pesky ideas about love, pain, sorrow, friendship and God inevitably require your attention.  When a teacher isn’t forcing you to write essays about this stuff, it’s easily brushed to the side, but I think we’d be remiss if we didn’t visit these ideas personally from time to time.

I guess what I’m driving at is that books make you examine what it means to be human, and isn’t that one of the most important things we can do?

Ok I’m done with the dramatics.  Here’s my list of books.  If you’re interested in reading any of these, I’d be happy to give you a review, tell you which ones sucked, etc.

Books of 2011 Title Author
1) Anna Karenina Leo Tolstoy
2) The book thief Markus Zusak
3) the lost symbol Dan Brown
4) Dubliners James Joyce
5) Wuthering Heights Emily Bronte
6) Parrot and Olivier in America Peter Carey
7) the help Kathrynn Stockett
8) girl with the dragon tattoo Stieg Larsson
9) the girl who played with fire Stieg Larsson
10) the girl who kicked the hornets’ nest Stieg Larsson
11) A Tale of Two Cities Charles Dickens
12) Water for Elephants Sara Gruen
13) Crime and Punishment Dostoyevsky
14) Generation Kill Evan Wright
15) Heart of Darkness Joseph Conrad
16) Mrs. Dalloway Virginia Woolf
17) Desert Queen Janet Wallach
18) Bossypants Tina Fey
19)The Time of the Hero mario vargas llosa
20) My Horizontal Life Chelsea Handler
21) The Tiger’s Wife Tea Obreht
22) Lies Chelsea Handler Told Me chelsea’s friends
23) 1835 James Boyce
24) The Hunger Games Suzanne Collins
25) One Nation Under Contract Alison Stanger
26) Catching Fire Suzanne Collins
27) William Mulholland and the Rise of Los Angeles Catherine Mulholland
28) Mockingjay Suzanne Collins
29) Unbroken Laura Hillenbrand
30) Norwegian Wood Haruki Murakami
31) the Hakawati Rabih Alameddine
32) Some Girls: my life in a harem Jillian Lauren
33) Dracula Bram Stoker
34) The Picture of Dorian Gray Oscar Wilde
35) Bitter is the New Black Jen Lancaster
36) the Lover Marguerite Duras
37) 3 cups of Tea Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin
38) Little Mountain Elias Khoury
39) A Universal History of Iniquity Jorge Luis Borges
40) Grace Eventually: Thoughts on Faith Anne Lamott
41) The Unwanted Kien Nguyen
42) Letters from a Skeptic Dr. Gregory A. Boyd and Edward K. Boyd
43) The Lost and Forgotten Languages of Shanghai Ruiyan Xi

So, for 2012 I’m hoping to keep up the reading habit, advance professionally and then there’s some other more personal goals that are a bit too embarrassing to mention.

Anyways, here’s to a new year in a new city!

5 thoughts on “New

  1. “Sadly, I failed at 43.” Get. Out. Of. Here. I need to hear more goals, because ‘reading’ and ‘working’ are not enough details for me.

Leave a Reply

