Wedding Planning Reflections: Episode 3

Episode 3: In which I show off some little details that nobody would know/notice, but were super meaningful to me, and I don’t care if nobody else cares.

#1 Shoes

I wore my sister Casey’s wedding shoes.  Yes, they’re beautiful, they help a girl out with an extra five inches, and are surprisingly comfortable.  However, I felt truly honored and somehow protected wearing them.  Knowing that my sister, who has built a wonderful marriage, wore these on her very awesome wedding day was pretty cool.

Erin_Paul-0009

#2 Suits

The suits were a fun idea from PC.   Becon Berlin, a suit store, sponsors the BR Volleys, so each year Paul and his teammates receive a new suit.  For tall guys, renting suits or tuxes is usually a frustrating endeavor.  Buying suits that fit becomes too expensive.  So, PC collected some suits from teammates, had the team patches removed, and outfitted his tall groomsmen in the Becon duds.  A little piece of Berlin for the guys! Erin_Paul-0116

#3 Eucalyptus

We did the flowers ourselves.   Picking the florals at the flower market,  I was sure of only one thing: I wanted eucalyptus.  The Australian native that has made itself comfortable in California.  Could it be more perfect? Plus, the plant is aromatic, and the seeded variety looks lovely and wild.  We used it in the boutonnieres, the bouquets, the table settings, and our wedding arbor.

Erin_Paul-0205

Special thanks to my mom, grandma, Hilde, and all the ladies who worked so hard to put these florals together.   Another special shoutout to my parents’ neighbor who built our wedding arbor to PC sized specifications.
Erin_Paul-0017

#4 SheWolf accessories

Casey, being creative and crafty, made these pretty little flower barrettes for the SheWolves to wear.  I think it made them all look like beautiful little wood nymphs.

Erin_Paul-0204

#5 & 6 My Hair Piece and Our Guest “book” 

Both of these items came from Etsy vendors in Australia!

Erin_Paul-0225

I love that we have a poster that celebrates where we came from, and that we can roll up and take with us wherever we go.  Erin_Paul-0617

 

#7 Table Settings

I didn’t want to beat everyone over the head with a travel theme, but wanted a few subtle touches.  I knew that we would name our tables after cities we’ve lived in, or had memorable visits.  So, I bought an old atlas from a thrift store in Berlin, and cut out the maps featuring our special cities.  Erin_Paul-0594

I sort of loved that the older atlas featured now defunct communist countries, and all German spellings.  Erin_Paul-0602

#8 Seating Chart

In my grandmother’s garden, I found these two doors with beautiful glass panes.  They are a small reminder of my grandfather who was chief craftsman/handyman at that house.  He built, or created so many of the beautiful things there.  My Pop-Pop was the most loving and hilarious man, and one of the most important reasons why I was able to attend Pepperdine.  Seven years after his death, he is still missed everyday.  These doors were a concrete reminder of him.  Erin_Paul-0616

 

#9 Music

Ok, no pictures for this one.  I just really loved picking out the music we used at our wedding.  We featured a couple of songs from the Temper Trap being that they are an Australian band, and PC and I saw them in concert in Berlin.  Our first dance song was picked by PC, who remembered it from one of the first mix cd’s (yeah mix cd- that sounds old) I ever made for him back when we were just friends.  And, our grand entrance song was “You Shook Me All Night Long”- a song from an Aussie band about gettin’ down with an American gal.

These are the kinds of wedding details that i’m on board with.   These little tidbits made the day extra special for PC and me…even if nobody else noticed or cared 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Wedding Planning Reflections: Episode 3

  1. I believe what you typed made a bunch of sense. But, what about this?
    what if you were to write a awesome post title? I ain’t saying your content isn’t solid., but suppose you added a headline to maybe grab a person’s attention? I mean Wedding Planning Reflections: Episode 3 | Casa Incognita
    is a little plain. You might peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create article
    headlines to get people interested. You might add a video or
    a related pic or two to get readers interested about everything’ve written. Just my opinion, it could
    make your blog a little livelier.

  2. When someone writes an paragraph he/she maintains the plan of a user in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    Therefore that’s why this post is outstdanding. Thanks!

  3. All those touches and choices were – and will always be – just perfect! So personal and on the money, and really made the event deeply felt and lasting

  4. I loved this post! Especially because I wasn’t able to be there so all of the things you talked about about I haven’t seen in pictures yet or wouldn’t know the back story of. So beautiful!!! I’m so happy that your wedding was an epic good time (that’s the chika – aka gossip – anyway) 😉 Sending you love!

Leave a Reply

