feelin great at 28

We had a pretty fun weekend.

On Friday, PC had a match at Sportforum, a sports complex in the East of the city.  Built in the 1950’s, the volleyball hall has that distinct DDR flavor about it.  The match was a bit of a snoozefest, so I focused on the decor.

DSC_0395

Within the hall complex, there are several delightfully communist murals, and other artistic additions to its walls.
DSC_0396

The BRvolleys picked up the W, and two whole days off for the weekend.

DSC_0400
H for Hohenschönhausen

 

On Saturday, I was murdered.

Ok, not really.  I put together a murder mystery game for my English students.   I also realized that I’ve never been to one of those murder mystery dinners adults throw from time to time. Are those not a thing anymore?

IMG_3078
Arsenic: the instrument of my demise

Later that evening, we celebrated my birthday.   Meeting up with friends, we sat down  for dinner at District Mot in Mitte.

distrcitmot

The concept is Saigon street food, and it smacks you in the face right when you walk in. Literally. I almost impaled myself on some of the decor.    Tissue boxes filled with toilet paper sit on the tables serving as your napkin dispenser, and you scoot up to the table perched on a colorful stool.

The menu offers a variety of dishes from vietnamese pancakes, tabletop barbecue, pho and even an award winning burger.  For adventurous palates,  try the fried silkworms and frog legs.  I can recommend the food and the cocktails, the service…not so much.

baoburger

After dinner, we walked over to Clärchens Ballhaus for some dancing.

IMG_3070

Over 100 years old, the ballroom has played host to illegal sword fights, Nazi dance parties, DDR prostitutes servicing Stasi agents, and Brad Pitt and Quentin Tarantino while shooting Inglorious Basterds.  On Saturday, we were just one of the many patrons aged 18 to 90 shakin’ it to hits from the last 60 years.

ballhaus-mitte-berlijn-1(p-club,4009)(c-0)

To learn more about the history of Clärchens, have a look at  this article.

Alternating between live band and DJ sets, the music at Clärchens kept us dancing and singing…until there was about a 15 minute lull of German music.  So many excited Germans introduced us to this gem.

I only wish I had been familiar with this song beforehand.  I would have busted out them dance moves like you wouldn’t believe.  Someone described a night of ‘schwoof’  (dancing) at Clärchens to a really fun wedding reception, which is pretty accurate.

At midnight, the house band sang Happy Birthday, and my lovely friends sang to me while I stood on a chair and cowered in embarrassment.  It was great.  I had a blast.

On Sunday, my actual birthday, we took it easy.  PC had come down with a bad cold, so we only ventured out for a short walk around half frozen Lietzensee.

DSC_0414

The next photos are a series I’m calling: Paul as Dementor.   DSC_0420 DSC_0435 DSC_0439

PC threw big pieces of ice onto the partially frozen lake, because…well, of course.

DSC_0444It was a great weekend to turn 28. Thanks for all the love everyone!

 

One thought on “feelin great at 28

  1. Nazi dance parties, all things delightfully communist, and Dschinghis Kahn all in the same post?! Freakin’ awesome! Still waiting for that stagg patronus to appear, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

