California Times

Phew, it’s been a minute…

This past summer was…crazy.  Thankfully, the good kind.  If I wasn’t driving all over the greater Los Angeles area, I was flying between continents.  Luckily, I have supportive and accommodating friends and family who put me up, and made room in their busy schedules for me.

Here’s a few highlights from the time I spent in California.  Roughly, mid May to mid June, then mid July to mid August.

Dodger Games with the Bay family.
IMG_3765

Hanging out with the most adorable twins.

DSC_0243 DSC_0230

DSC_0254 DSC_0262 DSC_0263

spending some quality time with this cutie pie who loves koalas.

IMG_4069

Seeing one of my best friends get married.  She was the most stunning bride!

jamiewedthegirlsjusthitched

Because for the last ten years we have been HORRENDOUS at documenting our friendship I had to include this pic.  These two were my saving graces in high school during all that idiocy, and now we’re all old, married ladies.  crazay.

hsladays

Played with this idiot, lover dog…GORDON!
DSC_0418

The family dogs (tootsie not pictured, though still very much alive and incontinent). DSC_0443

Celebrated Father’s Day at a Gastropub, and an old school ice cream parlour.  DSC_0463 DSC_0490 DSC_0501

Watched a World League volleyball match in Los Angeles.  While technically a home game for the USA, Iran seemed to have home court advantage.  Their fans are pretty amazing.

DSC_0227

They even had an inspiring contingent of fans advocating for equality.  Although volleyball is incredibly popular in Iran, women are not allowed into their stadiums to watch the games.  Last year, Ghoncheh Ghavami took a stand and attended a match in Iran.  She was subsequently arrested, and brought international attention to this issue.  The arrest was an embarrassment for Iran, and the charges against her were eventually dropped.  However, the policy against women attending major sporting events had not changed.  I heard that when this match was streamed in Iran, it was edited to remove women, and especially these signs from the footage.  Here’s hoping for future changes.  DSC_0219

Then I visited Aunt Nancy and Uncle Tim during their season as campground hosts at Quaking Aspen campground in Sequoia National Monument.  My parents and I stayed in a yurt, so it was pretty much glamping.  DSC_1019

I’m still learning fun facts about sequoias(best trees ever).  This trip, I learned that Sequoia is the only word that contains all of the vowels in it!

DSC_0056

DSC_0052 DSC_0114

I stayed for an extra hike with Aunt Nancy and Uncle Tim to the top of the Needles fire lookout.  DSC_0120 DSC_0130

During the second half of California time, PC got a few days off to visit.  We got to meet up with friends for a beach day.  Michael, Matt and PC looked like the tallest cutest dads.  We just needed Patrick to complete the pic.
DSC_0144

DSC_0170 DSC_0166

MJ was practicing some diva poses. DSC_0200

I’m sure I’ve forgotten a dozen other fun, exciting things from my time in California, but at least there’s a small taste.  Thanks to all my awesome friends and family for making it a great time as usual!

2 thoughts on “California Times

  1. Wonderful post! Great photos and memories all ’round, so many things to cherish. Love the inclusion of the hot butterscotch nutty nutty – so Murican. Family and friends are what it’s all about 👍

Leave a Reply

